Put on … what?

www.kellyminter.com

Image

After a lot longer than I should have spent on Pinterest and several fashion and sewing blogs this evening, I was about to close my laptop and head for bed as it is no longer evening when The Fitting Room by Kelly Minter (www.kellyminter.com) caught my eye with no small guilt trip from the chair arm where I last put it down…Sunday? I don’t remember. It’s a fabulous book and is teaching me so much. It’s just so darn convicting. What if instead of putting on all these cute dresses from Shabby Apple, or resolving to make a cute skirt from the iCandy patterns, I was this committed to putting on the virtues that come with my salvation? There’s searching the scriptures and pinning them to my life, not just an electronic board. There’s being kind and patient and at peace when I don’t really feel like it at the end of a 12 hour day at work. There’s wrapping myself in the confidence of God’s love when I’d rather slouch in a corner because I feel gross and ugly, inside and out (and don’t tell me you haven’t had those days.)

So as I head to bed, I’m going to dream up what the perfect spiritual dress would consist of, color scheme and everything. What do you think it should include?

“Therefore as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves …” Colossians 3:12

Leave a Reply

